The SFRRI Executive Committee is pleased to inform regional SFRR Societies that Prof. Jose Vina, a long-standing member and former President of SFRR Europe and Associate Editor of FRBM, has been elected as President-Elect for SFRR International as ofJanuary 2017.

June 21-23, 2017
OCC World Congress 2017 and Annual SFRR-E Conference
Location: Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin, Germany
Further information:

September 14-15, 2017
Reactive Oxygen Species and Lipid Peroxidation in Human Health and Disease
Special Meeting of the International HNE-Club
Location: Graz, Austria
Further information:

November 29 - December 2, 2017
24th Annual SfRBM Meeting
Location: Hilton Baltimore, Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Further information:

July 12 -15, 2018
19th SFRRI Conference (hosted by SFRR-E)
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Further information: TBA

SFRRI Meeting Sponsorship Form
Please click here to download



A brief history of the Society

The Society promotes interest in all aspects of research into the reactions and properties of free radicals and into their physical, chemical, biological, medical and industrial roles.

Founded in 1982, and now with over 2500 members worldwide, the Society consists of five autonomous regional groups: SFRR Asia, SFRR Europe, SFRR Australasia, Society for Free Radical Biology and Medicine (SFRR Americas) and SFRR Africa. A number of regional groups have also been established within these areas.

The Inaugural Meeting of the Society was organized by Profs. Trevor Slater and Robin Willson held at The Royal Institution, London on 9 July 1982.

At the First Biennial Meeting, held at Brunel University in September 1982, the name Society for Free Radical Research was adopted, a Constitution agreed, and a President (Chairman) and Officers and Committee elected.

To accommodate the increasing size of the Society, a new Constitution was proposed and adopted in 1988 at a meeting in Kyoto, and the autonomous regional groups: SFRR (Asia), SFRR (Australasia) and SFRR (Europe), inaugurated. The Oxygen Society, founded in the USA in 1987, became a constituent member of SFRR and de facto SFRR (Americas). The Oxygen Society later changed its name to the Society for Redox Biology and Medicine (SFRBM).

The international society has held meetings every two years with the first of these being at Brunel University in 1982. Further meetings have been held at the following places: York, England (1984); Dusseldorf, Germany (1986); Kyoto, Japan (1988); Pasadena, USA (1990); Turin, Italy (1992); Sydney, Australia (1994); Barcelona, Spain (1996); Sao Paulo, Brazil (1998); Kyoto, Japan (2000); Paris, France (2002); Buenos Aires, Argentina (2004); Davos, Switzerland (2006); Beijing, China (2008), Orlando, Florida, USA (2010) and London, England (2012).

The next meeting (17th Biennial meeting) is planned for Kyoto, Japan in 2014.


Member Login