Minutes of the General Assembly of the Society for Free Radical Research Davos, Switzerland, August 18th, 2006 Time: 13:30

Congress Centre Davos Room Aspen

- 1. The provisional agenda was approved
- 2. The minutes of the General Assembly of Buenos Aires have been approved
 - 2.1. Report of the President Elect on the elections: the result of the elections as given in the attached report was read. Considering the minimum difference in the number of votes received by Balaraman (Raman) Kalyanaraman and Michael Davies (only five votes of difference out of more than six hundred electors) the Executive Committee has proposed to have both of them appointed to secretary-general. [In the subsequent days Balaraman (Raman) Kalyanaraman has declined to accept the position of Secretary General due to a large number of other administrative commitments. Consequently, Michael Davies results to be elected to the post of secretary-general and accepts this responsibility]
 - 2.2. The president elect indicated an anomaly in the Society for Free Radical Research, Africa. This society since years does not provide a list of members, the relative fees and the bylaws. The president has remained the same since the foundation of the Society in 2002. No reports of elections have been sent.
- 3. Report of the President: Toshikazu Yoshikawa expressed his thanks to the officers for the excellent functioning of the Society.
- 4. Report of the General Secretary: the vision of a more modern structure for the SFRR international was presented with the need to have professional help for the website, a new more flexible bank reference, and a permanent support in the meeting organisation. A concrete proposal will be presented at the to the new committee as soon as possible
- 5. The Report of the Treasurer is attached
- 6. Report of the Delegates of the Regional Societies
 - 6.1. Europe.
 - a. The president of SFRR Europe informed about the election

President elect 2007/2008: Henrik Poulsen, Denmark

Treasurer 2007/2008: Joe Lunec, UK
Secretary 2007/2008 (further 2 years): Nesrin Özer, Turkey
Meeting officer 1, 2007/2008 (further 2 years): Tilman Grune, Germany
Meeting officer 2, 2007-2010 (4 years): Helen Griffiths, UK

Committee

Stephan Christen, Switzerland. email: Stephan.christen@ifik.unibe.ch Bertrand Friguet, France. email: bfriguet@paris7.jussieu.fr Francesco Galli, Italy. email: f.galli@unipg.it Efstathios Gonos, Greece. email: sgonos@eie.gr.

Arne Holmgren, Sweden. email: Arne.Holmgren@mbb.ki.se Lars-Oliver Klotz, Germany.

email: larsoliver.klotz@uni-duesseldorf.de

Santiago Lamas, Spain. email: slamas@cib.csic.es Joao Laranjinha, Portugal. email: laranjin@ci.uc.pt

Mathilde Maiorino, Italy. email: mmaior@mail.bio.unipd.it Federico Pallardo, Spain. email:

Federico.V.Pallardo@uv.es

b. The Young Investigator Award winners SFRR-Europe 2006 are:

Francesco Timolati, e-mail: Francesco.timolati@dkf.unibe.ch University Hospital, Cardiology, Murtenstrasse 31, CH-3010 Bern, Switzerland

Dr. Anna Bagdanova, e-mail: annab@access.unizh.ch University of Zurich, Institute of Veterinary Physiology, Vetsuisse Faculty, Winterthurerstrasse 260, CH-8057, Zurich, Switzerland

Dr. Deborah Pye, e-mail: deborah.pye@liverpool.ac.uk University of Liverpool, Metabolic and Cellular Medicine, Daulby Street, L693GA, Liverpool, UK

Dr. Nicolle Bader, e-mail: nbader@uni-hohenheim.de Institute of Biological Chemistry and Nutrition, Biofunctionality and Food Safety, Garbenstraße 28, D-70593 Stuttgart, Germany

Dr. Peter Schroeder, e-mail: peter.schroeder@uni-duesseldorf.de IUF, Cell Biology, Auf'm Hennekamp 50, D-40225 Duesseldorf, Germany

6.2. SFRR Asia.

Yuji Naito, Secretary-general SFRR Asia informed about the winners of the Young Investigator awards 2006

Chang Chen (P1-2) Jie Zhnag (P7-8) Payal Bhardwaj (P10-9) Hyun Ae Woo (P5-23) Yuko Minami (P23-88)

6.3. The winners of the SFRR international awards have been

<u>Carsten Berndt (SE)</u> - Iron-cofactors in Members of the Thioredoxin-family of Proteins <u>J. Racquel Collins-Underwood (US)</u> - Role of NADPH Oxidase in Radiation-induced Oxidative Stress and Inflammation in Brain Endothelium

<u>Marcelo A. Comini (DE)</u> - Down-regulation of a Thioredoxin-related Enzyme in African trypanosomes

<u>Rachael Dunlop (AU)</u> - Proteins Containing Incorporated DOPA Are Inefficiently Degraded by Proteasomes and Can Up-regulate Lysosomal Proteinases

<u>Sabine Schreier (AT)</u> - Vitamin C and HDL Decrease oxLDL-induced Accumulation of HIF-1alphain Macrophages

<u>Sandra Sobocanec (HR)</u> - Antioxidant Status and Gene Expression Profiling in Propolistreated CBA Mice

<u>Machha Ajay (MY)</u> - Vascular Effects of Quercetin, in Vitro and in Vivo, in Experimental Hypertension

<u>Carine Badouard (FR)</u> - DNA Lesions as Biomarkers of Inflammation and Oxidative Stress in Different Pathologies

<u>Yohan Suryo Rahmanto (AU)</u> - Identification of Melanotransferrin (p97) Associated Genes Using In Vitro and In Vivo Models

 $\underline{\text{Aneta Balcerczyk (PL)}} \text{ - Role of Cellular Labile Iron Pool in the Oxidation of 2',7'} - \\ \underline{\text{dichlorodihydrofluorescein}}$

- 7. The President of the next Congress in Beijing Prof. B. Zhao has reported on the preparation of the Congress. They need for the establishment of an international program committee has been indicated and Prof. B. Zhao will put together such a committee within one week. The need of a share basis for the possible profits of the Congress has been stressed and agreed upon.
- 8. Date of the next General Assembly has been set in the occasion of the 14th Congress in Beijing. A precise venue, date and time will be communicated later.

The meeting adjourns

The Secretary General Angelo Azzi